The best residential car lift overall in this lineup is the KATOOL 8,500 lb 4-Post Car Lift with Casters, a strong fit for owners who want a substantial platform lift with the option to move it around the garage. The Atlas PRO8000 is another standout for buyers seeking a portable four-post design, while the KATOOL 7,000 lb Mid-Rise Scissor Lift suits garages where a taller fixed installation will not work. The main tradeoffs are lift style, available ceiling and floor space, electrical capacity, and how much access you need beneath the vehicle. A lift that stores or moves easily may offer less working height than a permanent two-post setup. Read on for the full breakdown, selection criteria, and advice for matching a lift to your garage and vehicles.
Get garage and car supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Four-post lifts lead this roundup for flexible home use: several picks combine vehicle support with portable or caster-based positioning, but their runways take up more floor space than a two-post lift.
- Capacity alone does not determine fit: vehicle weight, wheelbase, track width, and the lift’s rated capacity all need to match; a generous headline rating cannot make an incompatible vehicle safe to lift.
- Portable lifts trade height or access for flexibility: the VEVOR 7,000 lb model reaches 26.8 inches, while the KATOOL mid-rise scissor lift reaches 39 inches, a difference that affects under-car work.
- Garage infrastructure separates serious installations from simple purchases: the 11,000 and 12,000 lb two-post models call for careful checks of power, ceiling clearance, concrete, and installation requirements before buying.
- Very low lift height has a distinct purpose: the VEVOR pneumatic set’s 12.6-inch maximum height can help with limited-clearance tasks, but it is not a substitute for a full-height service lift.
| KATOOL 8,500 lb 4-Post Car Lift with Casters | ![]() | Best for Flexible Garage Storage | Brand and model: KATOOL 4H850 | Lift type: Four-post car lift | Lifting capacity: 8,500 lbs | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| VEVOR Portable Car Lift, 7,000 lb Capacity, 26.8 in Maximum Height | ![]() | Best for Compact, Storable Lifting | Brand and model: VEVOR JT-7000 | Lift type: Portable car lift | Capacity: 7,000 lb | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| KATOOL 7,000 lb Portable Mid-Rise Scissor Car Lift, 39-Inch Maximum Height, 110V | ![]() | Best for Low-Clearance Cars | Brand and model: KATOOL X77 110 | Lift type: Portable mid-rise scissor lift | Lift capacity: 7,000 lbs | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| KATOOL 12,000 lb Extra Height 167-in 2-Post Car Lift (AK-M120, Red) | ![]() | Best for Heavy, Tall Vehicles | Brand and model: KATOOL AK-M120 | Lift type: Two-post car lift | Load capacity: 12,000 lbs | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| XK P-407A 4-Post Portable Car Lift, 8,000 lb Capacity, 110V | ![]() | Best for Double Parking | Brand and model: XK P-407A | Lift type: Four-post portable car lift | Lifting capacity: 8,000 lbs | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Albott 7,000 lb Portable Scissor Car Lift with Extension Plates | ![]() | Best for Adjustable Portable Lifting | Load capacity: 7,000 lbs (3,200 kg) | Maximum lifting height: 28 inches | Height increments: 4 increments (75 × 75 × 100 mm) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| XK M6200 Mobile Single-Post Car Lift, 6,200 lb Capacity, 220V | ![]() | Best for Flexible Single-Post Access | Model: XK-M6200 | Lifting capacity: 6,200 lbs | Lifting height: 1,800 mm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| KATOOL 11,000 lb Two-Post Clear-Floor Car Lift | ![]() | Best for High-Capacity Two-Post Lifting | Model: M110 | Load capacity: 11,000 lbs | Maximum lifting height: 80 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| APlusLift 8SXLT 8,000 lb Extra-Tall, Long-Wide 4-Post Car Lift | ![]() | Best for Extra-Tall Four-Post Storage | Lift type: 4-post car lift | Load capacity: 8,000 lbs | Lifting height: 82 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Albott 8,000 lb Portable Car Lift for Home Garages | ![]() | Best for Higher-Capacity Portable Lifting | Load capacity: 8,000 lbs (3,629 kg) | Material: Q355B steel | Maximum lifting height: 27.4 inches | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Atlas PRO8000 Portable 4-Post Vehicle Lift, 8,000 lb Capacity | ![]() | Best for Stacking Cars in a Home Garage | Lift type: Portable 4-post vehicle lift | Load capacity: 8,000 lb | Motor: 110V electric | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| WEIZE 11,000 lb Two-Post Car Lift with 220V 3 HP Motor | ![]() | Best for Heavy-Duty Home Repair | Lift type: Two-post car lift | Lifting capacity: 11,000 lb | Motor: 220V, 60Hz, single-phase, 3 HP | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Real Relax 7000 lb Portable Car Lift with Extension Plates | ![]() | Best for Compact, Foldable Storage | Lift type: Portable four-column car lift | Load capacity: 7,000 lb (3,200 kg) | Lifting height: 10.24–26.8 in | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| VEVOR Portable Pneumatic Car Lift Set, 5-Ton Capacity, 12.6-Inch Maximum Height | ![]() | Best for Low-Height Pneumatic Service | Lift type: Portable pneumatic ramp jack set | Set size: 2 car lifts | Load capacity: 11,023 lb (5 tons) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| residential car lift | Lift type | Warranty | Load capacity | Item weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KATOOL 8,500 lb 4-Post Car Lif | Four-post car lift | — | — | — |
| VEVOR Portable Car Lift | Portable car lift | — | — | — |
| KATOOL 7,000 lb Portable Mid-R | Portable mid-rise scissor lift | 1 year | — | — |
| KATOOL 12,000 lb Extra Height | Two-post car lift | — | 12,000 lbs | — |
| XK P-407A 4-Post Portable Car | Four-post portable car lift | 36 months parts replacement | — | 1,469 lbs |
| Albott 7,000 lb Portable Sciss | — | — | 7,000 lbs (3,200 kg) | 401 lbs |
| XK M6200 Mobile Single-Post Ca | — | 18 months parts replacement | — | 1,580 lbs |
| KATOOL 11,000 lb Two-Post Clea | — | 1 year | 11,000 lbs | 1,350 lbs |
| APlusLift 8SXLT 8,000 lb Extra | 4-post car lift | 3 years | 8,000 lbs | — |
| Albott 8,000 lb Portable Car L | — | 1 year | 8,000 lbs (3,629 kg) | — |
| Atlas PRO8000 Portable 4-Post | Portable 4-post vehicle lift | 1 year on material and workmanship | 8,000 lb | 1,800 lb |
| WEIZE 11,000 lb Two-Post Car L | Two-post car lift | 1 year | — | 1,426.4 lb |
| Real Relax 7000 lb Portable Ca | Portable four-column car lift | — | 7,000 lb (3,200 kg) | 424.8 lb |
| VEVOR Portable Pneumatic Car L | Portable pneumatic ramp jack set | — | 11,023 lb (5 tons) | 227.1 lb |
More Details on Our Top Picks
KATOOL 8,500 lb 4-Post Car Lift with Casters
For a home garage that needs both vehicle storage and a lift that can be moved, the KATOOL 4H850 is a strong fit. Its 8,500 lb capacity exceeds the XK P-407A’s 8,000 lb limit, while its included casters make repositioning possible when the layout changes. The 110V power requirement is also friendlier to many residential garages than the 220V supply required by the KATOOL AK-M120 two-post lift. Four posts and primary and secondary mechanical locks provide a supported platform, though the single-point manual release is less convenient than a fully automated setup. The main practical hurdle is delivery: unloading requires a forklift or pickup at a local terminal. Buyers should also note that 220V operation needs an additional pump. This is a capable storage-oriented lift, but not a simple curbside delivery purchase.
Pros:- 8,500 lb capacity is higher than the XK P-407A’s 8,000 lb rating.
- Casters and moving kit allow repositioning around a garage or shop.
- Runs on standard 110V/60Hz single-phase power.
- Primary and secondary mechanical locks are provided on all four posts.
Cons:- Delivery unloading requires a forklift or pickup from a local terminal.
- 220V operation requires an additional pump.
- Its 70.87-inch maximum height may not suit buyers who need greater lift clearance.
Best for: Homeowners who want a high-capacity four-post lift they can reposition and whose garage has standard 110V power.
Not ideal for: Buyers without access to a forklift or terminal pickup, or anyone seeking a turnkey 220V configuration without an additional pump.
- Brand and model:KATOOL 4H850
- Lift type:Four-post car lift
- Lifting capacity:8,500 lbs
- Maximum lifting height:70.87 inches
- Motor power:3.0 HP
- Power requirement:110V/60Hz/single-phase
- Safety system:Primary and secondary mechanical locks on four posts; single-point manual release
- Included mobility accessory:Casters/moving kit
- Unloading requirement:Forklift or pickup from a local terminal
Our verdict“Choose the KATOOL 4H850 if you want a movable, 110V four-post lift with more capacity than the XK P-407A and can arrange heavy-equipment unloading.”
VEVOR Portable Car Lift, 7,000 lb Capacity, 26.8 in Maximum Height
The VEVOR JT-7000 is the most storage-minded choice here: its foldable design and four casters make it easier to move out of the way than a fixed four-post lift such as the KATOOL 4H850. Its 7,000 lb capacity and 26.8-inch maximum height suit many routine garage jobs, but this is a low-rise maintenance lift, not a way to create a second parking level. The 10.24–26.8-inch range gives some flexibility for service access, while rubber pads and mechanical locks help support the vehicle at the lift points. That compact format comes with a firm site requirement: use it only on a flat, solid surface, not a slope. The lifting-pad range and extension plates add fit flexibility, but buyers need to plan storage because wall hooks are not included.
Pros:- Foldable construction and four nylon casters help with movement and storage.
- 7,000 lb capacity covers a range of passenger vehicles and some heavier vehicles within the limit.
- Mechanical safety locks and rubber lifting pads support secure vehicle placement.
- 11-inch extension plates and an adjustable lifting-pad range add fit flexibility.
Cons:- 26.8-inch maximum height is limited compared with the KATOOL X77 110’s 39-inch rise.
- Must be used on a flat, solid surface and is not recommended for slopes.
- Wall storage hooks or nails are not included.
Best for: DIY owners with limited garage space who need a portable low-rise lift for maintenance on vehicles within the 7,000 lb capacity.
Not ideal for: Drivers who need standing-height access, a second parking level, or a lift surface that can be used on sloped or uneven ground.
- Brand and model:VEVOR JT-7000
- Lift type:Portable car lift
- Capacity:7,000 lb
- Lifting range:10.24–26.8 inches
- Lifting-pad range:6.5–20 inches
- Power unit:120 V
- Construction material:Q235B carbon steel
- Safety features:Mechanical safety locks and rubber contact pads
- Mobility and storage:Four nylon casters; foldable design
Our verdict“Pick the VEVOR JT-7000 if compact storage and mobility matter more than the taller working clearance offered by the KATOOL X77 110.”
KATOOL 7,000 lb Portable Mid-Rise Scissor Car Lift, 39-Inch Maximum Height, 110V
Among these portable lifts, the KATOOL X77 110 pairs a 4.3-inch minimum height with a 39-inch maximum rise, making it a better match for many low-clearance cars than the VEVOR JT-7000, which tops out at 26.8 inches. That extra lift height creates more room for under-vehicle maintenance, while the 7,000 lb capacity keeps it aimed at typical residential vehicles rather than heavy-duty trucks. Its 110V power also avoids the 220V electrical requirement of the KATOOL AK-M120. The tradeoff is a one-year warranty and less detail in the supplied specifications about mobility or included accessories than the VEVOR provides. Shipment logistics need attention too: unloading calls for a forklift, or the buyer must collect it at a local terminal. I’d favor it for low cars and useful mid-rise access, not for effortless delivery or long-term coverage.
Pros:- 4.3-inch minimum height suits many low-clearance vehicles.
- 39-inch maximum height offers more working clearance than the VEVOR JT-7000.
- 7,000 lb capacity fits many residential cars and light vehicles within the limit.
- 110V power avoids the 220V requirement of the KATOOL AK-M120.
Cons:- One-year warranty is limited compared with the XK P-407A’s stated 36-month parts-replacement warranty.
- Unloading requires a forklift or pickup from a local terminal.
- The provided product data does not specify casters or storage features.
Best for: DIY owners with low-clearance cars who want a 110V portable lift that raises higher than a compact low-rise model.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lift for vehicles over 7,000 lbs, longer warranty coverage, or delivery that does not require forklift access or terminal pickup.
- Brand and model:KATOOL X77 110
- Lift type:Portable mid-rise scissor lift
- Lift capacity:7,000 lbs
- Minimum lifting height:4.3 inches
- Maximum lifting height:39 inches
- Power:110V
- Warranty:1 year
- Included components:Vehicle lift
- Unloading requirement:Forklift or pickup at a local terminal
Our verdict“Choose the KATOOL X77 110 for low-clearance vehicles and more mid-rise working room, provided its delivery logistics and one-year warranty suit you.”
KATOOL 12,000 lb Extra Height 167-in 2-Post Car Lift (AK-M120, Red)
The KATOOL AK-M120 is the capacity and clearance outlier in this group: its 12,000 lb rating and stated 167-inch under-lift clearance target tall, heavy vehicles that the portable 7,000 lb VEVOR JT-7000 is not designed to handle. A synchronized dual hydraulic chain-drive system and 4 HP motor are aimed at balanced lifting, while the 4.25-inch minimum height accommodates many low-profile vehicles. This is a substantial two-post installation, not a lift to move around the garage like the KATOOL 4H850 with casters. It also calls for 220V power, weighs 1,770 lbs, and requires forklift unloading, so electrical preparation, space, and installation help are part of the decision. The one-year warranty is short for such a major fixture. I’d choose it only when its heavy-vehicle capacity and exceptional clearance justify the commitment.
Pros:- 12,000 lb capacity exceeds the portable lifts in this group.
- Stated 167-inch under-lift clearance targets unusually tall vehicles.
- Dual hydraulic chain-drive system is designed for synchronized lifting.
- 4.25-inch minimum height suits many low-profile vehicles.
Cons:- Requires 220V power, unlike the 110V KATOOL 4H850 and XK P-407A.
- At 1,770 lbs, it needs forklift unloading and substantial installation planning.
- One-year warranty is limited for a large, permanent garage lift.
Best for: Owners of tall vans, trucks, or other heavy vehicles who have a dedicated garage bay, 220V power, and professional unloading and installation support.
Not ideal for: Residential buyers with standard 110V power, a small garage, no forklift access, or a need for a lift that can be repositioned.
- Brand and model:KATOOL AK-M120
- Lift type:Two-post car lift
- Load capacity:12,000 lbs
- Maximum lifting height:70.87 inches
- Operational lift height:73 inches
- Under-lift clearance:167 inches
- Minimum height:4.25 inches
- Motor and drive:220V, 4 HP; dual hydraulic chain-drive
- Weight and warranty:1,770 lbs; 1 year
Our verdict“Choose the AK-M120 only if you need its heavy-vehicle capacity and tall clearance and can accommodate its 220V supply, weight, and fixed installation.”
XK P-407A 4-Post Portable Car Lift, 8,000 lb Capacity, 110V
If the main goal is gaining another parking level in a home garage, the XK P-407A is the most directly equipped choice here: its four-post layout and 8,000 lb capacity are paired with oil drip trays and a movable tool tray. Compared with the KATOOL 4H850, it has a slightly lower stated capacity but adds useful storage and work-area accessories. It runs on 110V power and uses caster wheels for repositioning, though its 1,469 lb weight means “portable” should not be mistaken for easy to move without planning. Reinforced safety locks add a reassuring feature for a parking lift. The stated 36-month parts-replacement warranty is longer than the one-year coverage listed for the KATOOL X77 110, but the supplied data gives no maximum lift height. I’d favor this model for storage-focused buyers, not anyone choosing by clearance specifications alone.
Pros:- Four-post design can create a second parking level in one garage space.
- 8,000 lb capacity suits cars, SUVs, and light trucks within the limit.
- Caster wheels allow repositioning around the garage or workshop.
- Includes reinforced safety locks, oil drip trays, and a movable tool tray.
Cons:- At 1,469 lbs, repositioning requires careful planning and suitable help.
- The supplied product data does not state a maximum lifting height.
- Its 8,000 lb capacity is lower than the KATOOL 4H850’s 8,500 lb rating.
Best for: Homeowners seeking a 110V four-post lift for double parking, with included drip trays and a movable tool tray.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need published lift-height figures before choosing, or who cannot accommodate or reposition a 1,469 lb lift.
- Brand and model:XK P-407A
- Lift type:Four-post portable car lift
- Lifting capacity:8,000 lbs
- Power:110V
- Item weight:1,469 lbs
- Mobility:Four caster wheels
- Included features:Oil drip trays and movable tool tray
- Safety features:Reinforced safety locks
- Warranty:36 months parts replacement
Our verdict“Pick the XK P-407A for garage double parking and included work-area accessories if its weight and unspecified lift height fit your plans.”
Albott 7,000 lb Portable Scissor Car Lift with Extension Plates
I’d choose this Albott when flexible setup and storage matter more than maximum lift height. It supports vehicles up to 7,000 pounds and rises to 28 inches, with four height increments, adjustable posts, and extension plates to suit different vehicle contact points. Built-in wheels and a foldable design make it easier to store than a fixed lift, though its 401-pound total weight means portability is relative, not effortless. Compared with the Albott 8,000 lb Portable Car Lift, this model offers a slightly higher stated lift height but less capacity; the 8,000-pound version adds dual locking pins and mechanical safety locks. This lift needs a flat surface, and it requires about 220 pounds of load to descend, so it’s a less convenient fit for very light vehicles or uneven garage floors.
Pros:- Supports vehicles up to 7,000 pounds
- Reaches 28 inches with four height increments
- Foldable design and built-in wheels aid storage and repositioning
- Includes adjustable posts and extension plates
Cons:- At 401 pounds, moving and storing it still takes substantial effort
- Requires approximately 220 pounds of load to descend
- Must be used on a flat surface; slopes over 4° are unsafe
Best for: Home mechanics who need a foldable lift for cars, SUVs, or light trucks and want multiple height settings for varied jobs.
Not ideal for: Owners working on very light vehicles or in garages with sloped or uneven floors, because descent requires roughly 220 pounds of load and slopes over 4° are unsafe.
- Load capacity:7,000 lbs (3,200 kg)
- Maximum lifting height:28 inches
- Height increments:4 increments (75 × 75 × 100 mm)
- Adjustable height range:170–260 mm
- Material:Q235B steel
- Item weight:401 lbs
- Cycle time:25–30 seconds
- Recommended hydraulic oil:No. 46
Our verdict“Choose this Albott if adjustable, storable lifting up to 28 inches matters more than the higher capacity and added locking features of its 8,000-pound sibling.”
XK M6200 Mobile Single-Post Car Lift, 6,200 lb Capacity, 220V
The XK M6200 suits a garage where a fixed two-post installation would be too restrictive but a compact floor-level lift would not provide enough clearance. Its mobile single-post layout is designed for cars, SUVs, and pickups, lifting up to 1,800 mm with a stated 6,200-pound capacity. The electromagnetic safety lock, multiple arm locks, and reinforcement supports address stability, while manual unlocking means lowering involves a hands-on step. Compared with the KATOOL M110 two-post lift, the XK is mobile and has a smaller stated footprint, but gives up substantial capacity and uses a single post rather than two. Plan for 220V power and a circuit breaker rated for at least 30A; its 1,580-pound weight also means repositioning is not a casual one-person task.
Pros:- Mobile design allows more flexible placement than a fixed lift
- Lifts to 1,800 mm for greater access than portable scissor lifts
- Electromagnetic lock and multiple arm locks provide safety features
- Reinforcement supports are designed to improve lifting stability
Cons:- Requires 220V power and a minimum 30A circuit breaker
- Manual unlocking adds a hands-on step when lowering
- Weighs 1,580 pounds, limiting easy repositioning
Best for: Owners of cars, SUVs, and pickups who need a mobile lift with substantial working height and have a suitable 220V garage circuit.
Not ideal for: DIY mechanics without 220V power, those wanting an 11,000-pound capacity, or buyers who prefer automatic safety unlocking.
- Model:XK-M6200
- Lifting capacity:6,200 lbs
- Lifting height:1,800 mm
- Lifting time:45–55 seconds
- Power supply:220V
- Dimensions:2,380 mm high × 1,100 mm wide × 1,800 mm long
- Item weight:1,580 lbs
- Minimum circuit breaker current:30A
- Warranty:18 months parts replacement
Our verdict“Pick the XK M6200 if you need a mobile, higher-clearance lift and can accommodate its 220V electrical requirement and heavy frame.”
KATOOL 11,000 lb Two-Post Clear-Floor Car Lift
For a home shop that needs room beneath a raised vehicle and capacity beyond the portable options, the KATOOL M110 is the strongest match in this group. Its 11,000-pound rating and 80-inch maximum lift height suit a wider range of full-size vehicles and underbody work than the Albott portable scissor lifts, which top out at 28 inches. Symmetric arms, extension adapters, and manual safety releases on both sides help accommodate different vehicle contact points and provide a clear release arrangement. The tradeoff is installation and delivery: this is a 1,350-pound two-post lift, and unloading requires a forklift or pickup from a local terminal. It runs on 220V single-phase power, with an optional 110V configuration listed, but both options are 60Hz single-phase, so buyers should check their electrical setup before arranging delivery.
Pros:- 11,000-pound stated capacity suits heavier vehicles than the portable lifts here
- 80-inch lift height provides substantial under-vehicle access
- Manual safety releases are provided on both sides
- Includes 30 mm and 120 mm extension support adapters
Cons:- Requires a forklift or pickup to unload from a local terminal
- 1,350-pound weight and two-post layout demand careful installation planning
- Electrical options are limited to 60Hz single-phase power
Best for: Home-shop owners servicing heavier vehicles who have room for a two-post installation, appropriate electrical service, and a plan for terminal pickup or forklift unloading.
Not ideal for: Renters, small garages, or buyers who need a lift they can store away; the heavy, fixed two-post setup and freight handling are substantial commitments.
- Model:M110
- Load capacity:11,000 lbs
- Maximum lifting height:80 inches
- Minimum height:4.25 inches
- Dimensions:112 × 19 × 38 inches
- Item weight:1,350 lbs
- Power:220V, 60Hz, single phase; optional 110V, 60Hz, single phase
- Included adapters:30 mm and 120 mm extension support adapters
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose the KATOOL M110 for higher-capacity, clear-floor service in a dedicated home shop, not for a garage that needs a storable lift.”
APlusLift 8SXLT 8,000 lb Extra-Tall, Long-Wide 4-Post Car Lift
The APlusLift 8SXLT is the pick for a dedicated garage where a four-post platform can serve both repair and storage needs. Its 82-inch lifting height and 99-inch drive-through width give it a more spacious, easy-to-drive-on format than the XK M6200 single-post lift, while the 8,000-pound capacity is below the KATOOL M110’s 11,000-pound rating. Aluminum ramps, a caster kit, jack tray, and drip trays are included, so the package is set up for more than simply raising a vehicle. Its 110V hydraulic power unit may be easier to accommodate than the M110’s standard 220V supply, but the footprint is large: 190 × 112 inches, before allowing for practical access around the lift. At 1,850 pounds, it is not a portable or easy-to-relocate choice.
Pros:- 82-inch lifting height provides generous clearance
- 99-inch drive-through width eases vehicle positioning
- Includes aluminum ramps, caster kit, jack tray, and drip trays
- 110V hydraulic unit and 3-year warranty are specified
Cons:- Large 190 × 112-inch overall footprint requires a spacious garage
- At 1,850 pounds, it is difficult to relocate
- 8,000-pound capacity is lower than the KATOOL M110 two-post lift
Best for: Homeowners with a spacious garage who want a wide, tall four-post lift for vehicle storage and routine service, with 110V power available.
Not ideal for: Owners with compact garages, low ceilings, or a need to move the lift between work areas; its large footprint and 1,850-pound weight make it a permanent-style installation.
- Lift type:4-post car lift
- Load capacity:8,000 lbs
- Lifting height:82 inches
- Drive-through width:99 inches
- Overall dimensions:190 × 112 × 94 inches
- Minimum height:4 inches
- Hydraulic power unit:110V, 1.5 HP
- Tested static load capacity:12,000 lbs
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the 8SXLT if you have the floor space for a tall, wide four-post lift and value included accessories over the KATOOL M110’s higher capacity.”
Albott 8,000 lb Portable Car Lift for Home Garages
This Albott is the better portable pick for owners who need more stated capacity than the 7,000-pound Albott scissor lift. It supports up to 8,000 pounds and includes four adjustable posts, extension plates, rubber pads, dual locking pins, and mechanical safety locks. The Q355B steel construction and up-to-75-inch extended length are aimed at accommodating trucks and SUVs as well as shorter vehicles. Its maximum height is 27.4 inches, slightly below the 7,000-pound model’s 28 inches, so the capacity gain comes without a lift-height gain. Each unit weighs about 130 pounds, which makes setup and handling a two-person consideration for many owners despite the portable format. Like the other Albott, it requires a flat, solid surface and No. 46 hydraulic oil; it is not a substitute for a high-clearance two-post lift such as the KATOOL M110.
Pros:- 8,000-pound stated capacity exceeds the 7,000-pound Albott portable model
- Dual locking pins and mechanical safety locks are included
- Adjustable posts and extension plates support longer-wheelbase vehicles
- Q355B steel construction and rubber pads are specified
Cons:- Maximum height of 27.4 inches is slightly lower than the 7,000-pound Albott model
- Each unit weighs about 130 pounds, making handling demanding
- Requires a flat, solid surface and No. 46 hydraulic oil
Best for: Home mechanics who need a portable lift rated for heavier vehicles, especially trucks or SUVs with longer wheelbases, and have a flat, solid work area.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need substantial underbody clearance, have sloped or unstable floors, or cannot manage individual lift units weighing about 130 pounds.
- Load capacity:8,000 lbs (3,629 kg)
- Material:Q355B steel
- Maximum lifting height:27.4 inches
- Lifting range:19.7–27.4 inches
- Overall length with extension plate:Up to 75 inches
- Adjustable height posts:4
- Total weight:375 lbs
- Approximate unit weight:130 lbs (60 kg) each
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick this Albott when portable lifting capacity and adjustable reach for trucks matter more than extra height or the underbody clearance of a full-size shop lift.”
Atlas PRO8000 Portable 4-Post Vehicle Lift, 8,000 lb Capacity
The Atlas PRO8000 is a strong fit when your main goal is storing one passenger car above another, rather than gaining broad undercarriage access. Its 8,000 lb capacity, diamond-plated runways, and double-lock safety system suit residential garages where a stable four-post platform matters. Unlike the lower-lifting Real Relax 7000 lb portable lift, this model is designed to stack cars and includes ramps, wheel stops, chocks, and trays for storage and maintenance. Caster wheels add some flexibility for moving it between bays, but they do not make setup simple: the lift weighs 1,800 lb. I would also check the garage electrical supply before choosing it, since it requires a 30-amp breaker. It makes less sense for buyers seeking a lightweight, frequently moved lift.
Pros:- 8,000 lb capacity supports stacking most passenger cars.
- Caster wheels allow relocation between bays or outdoors.
- Double-lock safety system and anti-skid runways support secure vehicle positioning.
- Includes ramps, wheel stops, chocks, and trays for storage and maintenance.
Cons:- At 1,800 lb, it is difficult to handle and set up.
- Requires a 30-amp breaker, which may call for electrical work.
Best for: Homeowners with enough garage height and a suitable 30-amp circuit who want to store a passenger car above another vehicle.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lift that is easy to move or set up alone, or whose garage lacks the required electrical circuit and clearance for stacked vehicles.
- Lift type:Portable 4-post vehicle lift
- Load capacity:8,000 lb
- Motor:110V electric
- Required breaker:30 amp
- Material:Alloy steel
- Item weight:1,800 lb
- Wheel type and count:Polyurethane; 4 wheels
- Warranty:1 year on material and workmanship
Our verdict“Choose the PRO8000 if garage-space savings through vehicle stacking matter more than easy setup or frequent relocation.”
WEIZE 11,000 lb Two-Post Car Lift with 220V 3 HP Motor
For a home shop that services trucks and SUVs as well as cars, the WEIZE offers 11,000 lb capacity and a two-post layout that leaves the vehicle’s underside accessible. That makes it a different kind of residential choice from the Atlas PRO8000: the Atlas is geared toward stacking vehicles, while this lift prioritizes repair access and heavier loads. Its 220V, 3 HP hydraulic power unit is suited to a dedicated workshop, and the double-point safety lock release adds a defined safety feature. The tradeoff is a substantial installation commitment: it weighs 1,426.4 lb and needs 220V power. Its stated 70.87-inch maximum lifting height may also fall short for buyers who want more overhead working room than this model provides.
Pros:- 11,000 lb capacity covers cars, SUVs, and light-duty trucks.
- Two-post design provides undercarriage access for repair work.
- 220V, 3 HP hydraulic power unit is suited to a dedicated workshop.
- Double-point safety lock release and heavy-duty steel construction.
Cons:- Requires a 220V power supply.
- Weighs 1,426.4 lb, making delivery and installation a major undertaking.
- Maximum lifting height is 70.87 inches, which may limit working room for some users.
Best for: Experienced home mechanics with a 220V supply and a suitable installation area who work on cars, light-duty trucks, or SUVs.
Not ideal for: Buyers with only standard household power, limited installation space, or a preference for a portable lift that can be relocated around the garage.
- Lift type:Two-post car lift
- Lifting capacity:11,000 lb
- Motor:220V, 60Hz, single-phase, 3 HP
- Maximum lifting height:70.87 in
- Drive-through width:110.23 in
- Overall dimensions:137 × 20 × 109 in
- Item weight:1,426.4 lb
- Safety system:Double-point safety lock release
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick the WEIZE for heavier home-shop repair work if you can support its 220V power and demanding installation.”
Real Relax 7000 lb Portable Car Lift with Extension Plates
The Real Relax suits owners who want portable lifting without a permanent four-post installation. At 424.8 lb, it is far lighter than the Atlas PRO8000, and its foldable design and nylon wheels make storage and repositioning more manageable. Adjustable pads, 11-inch extension plates, and a lifting range up to 26.8 inches give buyers flexibility for different vehicles and maintenance tasks. The compromise is capacity: its 7,000 lb limit is below the Atlas PRO8000’s 8,000 lb and the WEIZE’s 11,000 lb, so check the vehicle’s weight before buying. It also needs a flat, solid surface, and lowering requires manual release of the safety locks plus a load of about 220 lb or more. That operating routine may not suit every garage.
Pros:- Foldable design and nylon wheels help with storage and repositioning.
- Adjustable lifting pads and 11-inch extension plates support setup flexibility.
- Lifts to 26.8 inches for access during home maintenance.
- Multiple safety locks secure the lift while raised.
Cons:- 7,000 lb capacity is lower than the Atlas PRO8000 and WEIZE options.
- Requires a flat, solid surface and is not recommended on slopes over 4°.
- Manual lock release is required, and lowering needs about 220 lb of load.
Best for: Home mechanics who need a storable lift for compatible vehicles and have a flat, solid work area.
Not ideal for: Owners of vehicles above 7,000 lb, buyers working on sloped or uneven surfaces, or anyone seeking automatic lowering without manual lock release.
- Lift type:Portable four-column car lift
- Load capacity:7,000 lb (3,200 kg)
- Lifting height:10.24–26.8 in
- Lifting pad height range:6.5–20 in
- Extension plate length:11 in
- Power unit:120V
- Item weight:424.8 lb
- Safety:Multiple safety locks; manual unlocking required before lowering
- Recommended surface:Flat, solid surface; not recommended on slopes over 4°
Our verdict“Choose the Real Relax if foldable storage and moderate lifting height matter more than maximum capacity or effortless lowering.”
VEVOR Portable Pneumatic Car Lift Set, 5-Ton Capacity, 12.6-Inch Maximum Height
This VEVOR set is for owners who need modest lift height for undercarriage work, not vehicle storage or standing-height access. Its two pneumatic ramp jacks are operated together with the included controller, so both sides can rise in unison; extension ramps, columns, and wheel chocks come in the set. The stated 11,023 lb capacity is higher than the Real Relax’s 7,000 lb rating, but the VEVOR reaches only 12.6 inches, far below the Real Relax’s 26.8-inch maximum. That makes it a more specialized choice for low-clearance maintenance. At 227.1 lb for the set, it is lighter than the Atlas PRO8000, yet still substantial to move. Buyers should also confirm an appropriate air supply, since the product is pneumatic.
Pros:- Included controller lifts both jacks together.
- 11,023 lb stated capacity exceeds the Real Relax’s 7,000 lb rating.
- Includes extension ramps, extension columns, and wheel chocks.
- Low minimum height of 7.5 inches supports access beneath compatible vehicles.
Cons:- Maximum height of 12.6 inches offers much less clearance than the Real Relax.
- Pneumatic operation requires a compatible air supply.
- The 227.1 lb set is still heavy to move and store.
Best for: Home mechanics who need paired pneumatic lifting for low-height undercarriage maintenance and have a compatible air supply.
Not ideal for: Anyone seeking vehicle stacking, substantial working clearance, or a lift that operates without pneumatic equipment.
- Lift type:Portable pneumatic ramp jack set
- Set size:2 car lifts
- Load capacity:11,023 lb (5 tons)
- Lifting height:7.5–12.6 in
- Item weight:227.1 lb
- Dimensions:36.61 × 13.98 × 8.66 in
- Material:Rubber and steel
- Included components:2 lifts, 2 extension columns, 2 extension ramps, 2 wheel chocks, couplers, and user manual
Our verdict“Choose this VEVOR set for paired, low-height pneumatic service, but skip it if you need broad clearance or vehicle storage.”

How We Picked
I compared these 14 residential car lifts by how well their designs fit real home-garage constraints: vehicle compatibility, rated capacity, lifting height, footprint, mobility, power requirements, and the kind of access each lift provides beneath a vehicle. I also weighed the practical demands of installation and ongoing ownership, including whether a lift needs a permanent bay, suitable electrical service, and appropriate concrete. A capacity figure matters only when the vehicle’s weight and dimensions also fit the lift’s stated limits.
The ranking favors useful combinations of capability and residential flexibility, not the largest capacity or tallest lift by default. Four-post models score well for owners who value platform support and mobility, while two-post lifts suit garages prepared for a more involved installation and greater under-car access. Portable scissor and pneumatic options rank according to their narrower task range and working height. Since individual garage conditions and vehicle fit vary, I treat manufacturer specifications and installation requirements as checks buyers must confirm before purchase.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Residential Car Lifts
Choosing among these lifts starts with the job and the garage, not the capacity number on the listing. I would first map the vehicle’s dimensions and the space the lift will occupy, then check what the installation demands from the floor, ceiling, and electrical system. The following factors help prevent a lift that looks suitable on paper from becoming an expensive mismatch.
Match lift style to the work you actually do
A four-post lift supports a vehicle on runways, which can suit storage and routine service but uses a broad footprint and may limit access to some areas underneath. A two-post design leaves more of the underside open, though its installation and vehicle-positioning demands are usually greater. Scissor lifts can suit space-conscious owners, but their structure may occupy working room beneath the vehicle. Pneumatic low-rise sets serve narrower jobs, such as gaining modest clearance, rather than replacing a full-height lift. Before choosing a style, list the tasks you expect to perform and decide which kinds of under-car access matter most. A common mistake is buying for occasional convenience without checking whether the design supports the repairs you plan to do.
Check vehicle fit beyond the capacity rating
Start with the vehicle’s actual weight, then check wheelbase, width, lifting points, tire position, and any manufacturer limits for the specific model. A lift rated for more weight is not automatically compatible with a long, wide, or unusually configured vehicle. For a two-post lift, confirm that its arm reach and lifting-point arrangement work with each vehicle you plan to raise. For a four-post lift, compare runway dimensions and spacing with the tires and overall vehicle width. Leave room for future vehicles only if their dimensions and weight remain within the lift’s stated limits. Buyers who focus only on capacity can overlook geometry, which can make an otherwise powerful lift unusable for their vehicle.
Measure the whole garage, including the raised vehicle
Measure the bay’s length and width, then account for doors, cabinets, lighting, and room to walk around the lift. Ceiling height must cover the lift structure and the vehicle at its intended raised position, not just the vehicle’s roof at floor level. A tall vehicle or one stored above another can require more vertical clearance than a standard service job. Portable models still need a safe place to move and store their components when they are not in use. Marking the proposed footprint on the floor can reveal blocked doors or cramped access before delivery. Do not assume that a lift described as portable will make a small garage feel spacious once it is set up.
Treat concrete and installation as part of the purchase
Lift installation requirements can depend on concrete thickness, strength, condition, and anchoring method, so verify the manufacturer’s specifications before ordering. A floor that looks sound may still have cracks, patches, or construction details that affect where anchors can go. Two-post lifts and heavier permanent installations warrant particular attention to the slab and setup instructions. Check whether assembly, anchoring, electrical work, or professional installation falls to the buyer. If the garage floor or its history is uncertain, get it evaluated rather than guessing from appearance. Choosing a different lift style may be wiser than trying to adapt an unsuitable slab after delivery.
Plan power and operating arrangements early
Compare the lift’s voltage and motor requirements with the electrical service already available in the garage. A 220V model may call for a dedicated circuit or electrical work, while a 110V option may be easier to accommodate but still has specific requirements to verify. Do not assume that a receptacle’s shape or a product label confirms the circuit is suitable. Check the operating method, controls, safety locks, and any required release procedure so the lift fits the way you intend to work. Include electrician costs and installation time in your plan when the listed power does not match your setup. A lift that cannot be powered correctly is not a bargain, even if its mechanical specifications fit your vehicles.
Pay for capability you can use, not capacity you do not need
Higher capacity and extra height can be valuable when they match heavier vehicles or the jobs you perform, but they may bring larger dimensions and more demanding installation requirements. A lower-capacity portable lift may be the better home-garage choice if it fits your vehicles and can be stored or repositioned conveniently. Also compare the stated maximum height with the working clearance you need; a modest rise may help with wheels or inspection without providing room for extended under-car repairs. Ask what the lift’s rating covers, what accessories are required, and which maintenance or inspection steps the manufacturer specifies. Paying more makes sense when added reach, capacity, or working access solves a real limitation in your garage. It makes less sense when those capabilities remain unused.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a four-post lift or a two-post lift a better choice for a home garage?
I would choose based on the work area and the jobs you perform rather than treating one style as universally better. A four-post lift gives the vehicle runway support and can suit storage or general home use, but it occupies a broad footprint and may limit access beneath the car. A two-post lift provides more open under-car access, yet demands careful vehicle positioning and a suitable installation site. Compare the lift’s dimensions with your bay, vehicles, and concrete requirements before deciding. If you need one lift for both storage and repairs, check whether its design supports both tasks safely.
Can a portable residential car lift be moved around a small garage?
Some models are designed with casters or other mobility features, but “portable” does not mean effortless to move or compact when assembled. Check the product’s movement method, component weight, required floor condition, and clearance for maneuvering. A four-post lift can still occupy substantial space even if it can be repositioned. Measure where the lift will sit during use and where it will go when stored, including access past vehicles and workbenches. If moving it requires equipment or several people, plan for that before treating portability as a space-saving benefit.
Is a 7,000 lb lift enough for my car, SUV, or pickup?
It may be enough, but the vehicle’s actual weight and the lift’s specific vehicle-fit limits matter more than the category name. Check the vehicle’s curb weight and account for modifications or equipment that add weight, then compare it with the lift rating and manufacturer guidance. Also verify wheelbase, width, tire placement, and lifting points, since a vehicle can fall within the rating yet not fit the lift correctly. Do not use the rating as a target to approach without a suitable margin and clear manufacturer approval. If you own several vehicles, confirm each one separately rather than choosing around the lightest.
Will an 11,000 or 12,000 lb two-post lift work in a residential garage?
It can work in a residential setting only if the garage supports the lift’s installation and operating needs. Check ceiling height, bay width, the required concrete specifications, anchor locations, and the electrical supply before purchasing. A high-capacity rating does not guarantee compatibility with a home slab or ordinary garage power. Review the installation instructions and arrange professional evaluation when the floor, wiring, or vehicle fit is uncertain. If those requirements demand major changes, a portable four-post or lower-rise option may suit the space better.
Can a low-rise pneumatic lift replace a full-height car lift?
No; a low-rise pneumatic set is intended for limited elevation, not the same working position as a full-height lift. A maximum height around 12.6 inches may help with tasks that need some tire or underside clearance, but it will not provide the room for many repairs performed beneath a raised vehicle. Match the lift height to the specific tasks you plan to do and check whether the vehicle’s clearance and lifting points work with the set. If you need to work standing or move freely beneath a vehicle, compare full-height options instead. A low-rise lift can be a useful complement, but it should not be bought as a substitute without accepting its restricted access.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of residential usefulness and mobility, I recommend the KATOOL 8,500 lb 4-Post Car Lift with Casters as the best overall choice, provided its footprint and vehicle fit work in your garage. The VEVOR 7,000 lb Portable Car Lift is my value-oriented pick for buyers who need a portable design and can work within its 26.8-inch maximum height; the APlusLift 8SXLT is the premium-leaning choice for owners whose vehicles need an extra-tall, long-wide four-post platform. Beginners should focus on a lift whose installation, power supply, and operating instructions match their garage, rather than starting with the largest capacity; the KATOOL mid-rise scissor lift is a candidate when 110V operation and a 39-inch lift height suit the job. For more open under-car access, compare the KATOOL 11,000 lb and WEIZE 11,000 lb two-post lifts, but only after checking electrical and slab requirements. For low-clearance tasks, the VEVOR pneumatic set has a narrower role, while the XK M6200 single-post lift serves buyers seeking a different mobile lifting format. Confirm vehicle dimensions, installation specifications, and garage conditions before choosing any model.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

















